Dark Souls – “I See Fire” by Ed Sheeran – Montage

For my final project in my game studies class, I’ve created a montage of Dark Souls footage alongside Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire.” My goal in creating this video was to branch two unique forms of media together in a way that feels fresh and unique. Often times, video games are viewed as singular entities. I wanted to change that by bringing footage together from one of my favorite games and lyrics from one of my favorite songs in order to bridge the gap between the two different messages being produced. In “I See Fire,” Ed Sheeran talks about the desolation and destruction of fire, which makes sense since the song is about Smaug from The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug. Dark Souls, on the other hand, views fire as a sign of hope and life, however grim its ulterior effects may be. When the lyrics of Ed Sheeran’s song are played alongside the video I’ve put together, we are able to see themes and concepts align to create something truly special.

My favorite part of creating this video was the time I had to really ponder the main themes of the game. Before pulling all of the footage for the video, I really had to listen intently to the lyrics in order to match up the video segments accordingly. After listening to the song multiple times, I knew I was ready to begin selecting footage that expresses solemn, yet powerful themes of desolation and life, two very contradictory elements in life. Overall, I’m very happy with the results.

Enjoy!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in CS 108 Blog Posts, PS3, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

