Fallout 4: Please Be Better Than New Vegas

Fallout: New Vegas box art

One of my most recent gaming excursions has been in the land of New Vegas in the Fallout series and while the plot and the setting are delectable, New Vegas is a game that is chalked full of glitches that halt gameplay altogether.  I can’t count the times my Xbox 360 has frozen while walking through a door or better yet, merely walking through various locations.  It’s really too bad Bethesda didn’t do a better job cleaning this game up because it really is something special both to play and to admire from an aesthetics standpoint.  Regardless, New Vegas’ glitches make it a difficult game to fully enjoy.

Glitches in video games are by no means uncommon, especially in Bethesda games, but I have never experienced anything like New Vegas.  In games like Skyrim the glitches are minor and usually quite comical, but New Vegas’ glitches ruin the gaming experience altogether.  Certain quest lines are completely broken as key NPCs neglect to show up where they’re supposed to be.  This happened to me in one of the quests involving Black Mountain.  I was supposed to meet one of the Mutants in a village near Black Mountain, but when I went to my objective marker he simply wasn’t there.  I looked high, I looked low, but he was no where to be found, so I left.  Later on in the game I went back to Black Mountain for a different quest, which left me even more frustrated due to constant freezing when I walked past a certain part of Black Mountain.  As soon as I fast traveled away I had no problems.  Sure, it was only a side quest, but it stops people from fully enjoying the game.

Generally speaking, I had a magnificent time playing through this game.  The character customization, although not as good as Skyrim’s, holds up fairly well.  Additionally, I thought the plot was much better than that of Fallout 3’s, but that probably had something to do with the fact that I had just been to Vegas and had been through many of the towns in the game, unlike Fallout 3, which takes place in a location I have never been to.  In that sense, I guess it’s not the plot that made the game better, but rather the location for me personally.  Still, the factions in New Vegas felt much more distinct and added a nice explosive punch to the game (literally).  The strange mix of NCR troops and Cesar’s more primitive Legion as pivotal groups in a battle over Hoover Dam actually worked quite well, despite sounding somewhat unlikely.  Guns versus spears?  Yeah, pretty sure the NCR has the upper hand, but whatever it makes the story entertaining and forces you to engage different types of enemies dependent on the path(s) you choose.  Other than the plot and the factions, there’s really not much else to say about this game.  It’s basically a variation of Fallout 3, which actually works quite well.

As you can tell, there are a lot of things I loved about this game while playing it, but the glitches have to go if we’re going to be seeing Fallout 4 released in the future.  I’m talking directly to you, Bethesda.  We won’t stand for any more over-the-top, game breaking, careless glitches that ruin our experience.  Even after the massive patch that was released soon after this game came out I’m continuing to experience extreme amounts of freezing and broken quest lines.  That’s just unacceptable.  Please, Bethesda, go to great lengths to test your future games.  Skyrim was clearly more well crafted, which gives me a sense of reassurance, so hopefully any future Fallout games are rid of major glitches.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fallout 4: Please Be Better Than New Vegas

  1. brandonmc87 says:

    New Vegas was a coding trainwreck, and on top of that it felt more like an extension of F3 than its own game. Changing the font to orange isn’t enough to make things feel fresh, Bethesda.

  2. Vitosal says:

    I have tried to play this game but i found it incredibly boring. What specifically kept you playing?

    • Joel Palermo says:

      It is quite boring in the beginning. Things don’t really get that exciting until you hit the 20 hour mark in my opinion. But, if you do make it that far you start to get some kick ass guns, gear, and companions that make the game way more exciting. Believe me, I also had a tough time at the beginning of the game.

Leave a Reply

