2DS or not 2DS? That is the Question

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a handheld console of any sort.  I skipped out on the Nintendo DS craze when I was in high school and the PSP never really appealed to me.  Still, I find myself in somewhat of a dilemma.   The last handheld I owned of any sort was the Game Boy Advance (yes, the original GBA) and I loved it, but I soon thereafter drifted away from handheld gaming and began focusing solely on consoles.  Now I ask myself, should I purchase a 2DS after neglecting the handheld market for so long?  It’s a question I’ve been seriously pondering since the 2DS’s announcement and I think I’ve come up with a few good reasons why I’ll be picking one up on October 12th.

Cost

I’ve never been one to complain about the cost of a system, but I am a college student with a limited income, which makes the 2DS’s $129.99 price point quite appealing.  An extra $30-40 for a regular 3DS or a 3DSXL doesn’t seem like much in the scheme of things, but every dollar counts when weighing cost against functional practicality.

No 3D!

I’m sorry, but I’m one of those people who absolutely abhors the 3D option on the 3DS.  I know Nintendo was trying to be revolutionary, but the concept of gaming in 3D on a small screen is more of a step back than a step forward.  Seeing as the 2DS lacks the 3D function altogether, this seems like a great option for me or anybody else who could care less about the 3D function on the 3DS.  Why have the option if you’re never going to use it, right?

Nostalgia…Someday

One day we’ll all look back on the era of the 3DS and we’ll chuckle whenever a 2DS happens to pop up at a garage sale or a used game store.  Nintendo, like many other gaming companies, has been known to make systems that go down in history as some of the stranger looking devices of their respective eras.  I’m talking about systems like the Virtual Boy, the Game Boy Micro, and the Wii with its motion controls.  It is my prediction that the 2DS will join the likes of these strangely lovable and nostalgic pieces of gaming history and I, for one, can’t wait to be a part of it.

Will you be getting a 2DS?  Tell me why or why not in the comments section or take the poll below!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in 2DS, 3DS, Gameboy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2DS or not 2DS? That is the Question

  1. Vitosal says:

    hey bud, I’ve just never been a big fan of nintendo, sure back in the day they were the shit but they’ve never really done anything ground breaking to me except for Legend of Zela but nothing new ever comes out of their camp. Just re-imaginings of the same product.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      I definitely get where you’re coming from. I’m a Nintendo faithful, but I still have to admit that the company has been rather stagnant lately. They need new original titles, something to get people excited about the company again. They’ve stuck with their franchise poster boys for so long that they’ve begun to feel outdated in a sense. They need to innovate in the way of games, not hardware.

  2. Vitosal says:

    is Zelda, Link to the past 16-bit graphics?

Leave a Reply

