My Top 10 Legend of Zelda Bosses

The Legend of Zelda series has some of the best bosses found in any video game franchise, but it still goes without saying that some are better than others.  Spanning a large variety of consoles and generations, bosses in the Zelda universe have continued to remain iconic in the video game industry throughout the years.  Join me as I take a look at some of my favorites bosses from Zelda games I’ve played throughout the years.

Note: Spoilers are included in some parts of this list. 

#10 Moldorm (A Link to the Past)

I’ve been playing A Link to the past over the last few months and when I first reached Moldorm in the Tower of Hera, I’ll admit I wasn’t quite sure how to feel.  Moldorm guards the Pendant of Wisdom, which is ironic because you’d be wise to give up fighting this thing with any form of actual strategy at all.  It is a worm like creature that moves chaotically and increases its speed every time you hit its tail (its only weak point).  On top of that, you’re surrounded by a pit and if you fall to the level below you must travel all the way back to Moldorm who will have regained all of its health.  Sounds frustrating, right?  It is, but that doesn’t change the fact that I still enjoyed fighting this guy.  This is one of the few bosses I’ve faced in a Zelda game that truly poses a challenge.  Many other bosses are easily defeated, but not Moldorm.  Expect to fall down the pit at least three or four times before beating him.

#9 Phantom Ganon (Ocarina of Time)

Phantom Ganon is on this list because he is a very unique boss.  As opposed to many other bosses, which can usually be targeted continuously throughout the fight, Phantom Ganon forces you to go first person with your bow to target him as he rides his horse through various paintings hung around the room.  Aside from upping the ante from a difficulty standpoint, this boss battle breaks the standard battle formula and makes you experience something new.  Plus, the paintings were very reminiscent of those from Mario 64!

#8 Gohma  (Wind Waker)

Although a fairly simple boss, I love the way Gohma was re-imagined in Wind Waker.  The way Gohma’s exoskeleton was exploited as a weakness seemed very fresh and the overall design of the creature was very unique.  I also enjoyed the way in which Link uses his grappling hook to tug on Valoo‘s tail, causing the underside of the volcano to fall on Gohma.  Like I said, it’s not the most sophisticated boss fight in a Zelda game, but it plays on new elements and serves to create a unique battle.

#7 Fyrus (Twilight Princess)

I don’t know if there is anything more menacing that a giant flaming Goron who has been over taken by a fused shadow.  You’re kind of just asking to get the crap beat out of you.  From what I remember, this wasn’t the most difficult boss battle, but it did make you sweat a bit while trying to shoot the gem on Fyrus’ mask before you whipped you across the room with his chains.  Visually, I found this boss to be very appealing and quite epic.  What makes this fight even better is that Darbus, who had been turned into Fyrus by the fused shadow, doesn’t even thank you for releasing him from his demented state.  Since no one told him it was you who saved him, we’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

#6 Koloktos (Skyward Sword)

There weren’t many bosses in Skyward Sword that I loved, but Koloktos was one of the exceptions.  It stands menacingly over you and wields two curved axes, which are definitely a cause for discomfort.  I guess the main reason I like this boss is due to it’s various forms.  At first, it starts firmly planted in the ground at its waist line, but as the battle continues it proceeds to pull itself up out of the ground, revealing legs.  The whip you use to remove Koloktos’ joints is a bit childish, but the battle feels exhilarating nonetheless.

#5 Argorok (Twilight Princess)

I absolutely love this boss battle for a few reasons.  First off, I love the hookshot mechanic utilized in this fight because it allows you to grapple between towers before latching onto Argorok and hacking away at his back.  Although somewhat easy, I enjoy the feeling of swinging around the level in lieu of Argorok’s attacks.  The controls for this battle also feel very fluid and serve to create a unique experience.  Secondly, I enjoy the visual representation of this battle.  Argorok’s fire breath looks great for a Wii game and the surrounding atmosphere adds a great amount of depth.  Stylistically, Argorok is probably one of my favorite looking bosses as well.

#4 Twinrova (Ocarina of Time)

Twinrova makes for an awesome boss battle because of the different elements used in the fight.  At first, fighting Koume and Kotake separately is fairly straight forward, but it’s still fun to use fire and ice alternately against the two sisters.  After damaging them both a few times the real battle begins as they combine to form Twinrova.  Because you must absorb only one element three times in a row, it makes for a somewhat strategic battle in which you’ll find yourself dodging either fire or ice balls until you’re able to absorb enough of one element to shoot it back at Twinrova.  It doesn’t take a whole lot of skill to win this boss battle, but the concept is executed very well.

#3 Goht (Majora’s Mask)

If you want a fast paced boss battle, then this is your ticket.  Goht is a giant mechanical bull that runs on electricity.  By utilizing the Goron mask you are able to turn into Goron Link and chase Goht around the circular arena in which he resides.  When rolling at full speed Goron Link produces spikes on his back, which can be used to damage Goht.  I enjoy this boss battle because of its fast paced nature and the focus on the Goron mask to defeat Goht.

#2 Majora’s Incarnation (Majora’s Mask)

Even though Majora’s Mask was relatively shorter than most Zelda games and had fewer bosses, it still delivers in the category of memorable battles.  Frankly, Majora’s Incarnation is an absolute psychopath and one of the creepier bosses in a Zelda game.  From its sporadic movements to its slender man-esque body, Majora’s Incarnation definitely creeped me out when I was younger.  To me, any boss that obscure and creepy is a winner in my book.

 

#1 Demise (Skyward Sword)

This may come as a surprise to many of you, but Demise’s appearance and fighting sequence in Skyward Sword are incredible.  The fight against him is nothing short of amazing as you battle within a strange realm of water and smoke very much similar to the arena in which you fight Dark Link in Ocarina of Time.  As the battle progresses I love the use of lightning to power up the Master Sword and Demise’s heavy movements clearly encapsulate the immense strength and power of his character.  What makes this battle so powerful is the fact that his defeat marks the beginning of a long line of Ganondorfs within the Zelda timeline.  Screw you Demise…every single Link has you to thank for Ganondorf’s existence.

What are your favorite Zelda bosses?  Comment below!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

 

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Gameboy, Gamecube, Nintendo 64, Super Nintendo, The Legend of Zelda, Wii and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Top 10 Legend of Zelda Bosses

  1. Vitosal says:

    I have a confession to make…..*Sigh* I have never played a Zelda game. I honestly don’t know what the fascination is about it. Care to elaborate?

    • Joel Palermo says:

      Hmmm where to begin. I suppose my enjoyment of Zelda games comes from playing them early on as a child. Generally speaking, they are all action adventure games with slight RPG elements in which you navigate dungeons with puzzle elements and a boss battle at the end. As you progress you gain health, magic, new equipment, etc. I guess what makes these games so great is that they play on fairly simple story lines (good vs. evil), but they do so in a way that makes you feel very involved in the story. You’re meant to feel like Link, the hero of time and that becomes heavily latent within the games design itself as you play. The music is absolutely phenomenal in almost all of the games and elements of darkness constantly creep up through the cracks of an otherwise peaceful world. I could go on for hours talking about all of the things I love about Zelda games, but until you sit down and play one, it’s hard to do it any justice. Let me know if there are specific things you’re interested in or specific games. I love talking about the Zelda universe!

  2. Vitosal says:

    ok say, i want to try a zelda game. Is there a continuation of a story being told, can i just pick up and go? If not which one would you suggest I play first. I don’t have an xbox, i have ps3, psp and PC. I doubt i will be able to play Zelda on those.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      That does pose a bit of a problem…
      No matter, you can get emulators to play most of these games. Here is a link with a variety of emulators for various consoles. http://www.digitaltrends.com/gaming/best-emulators/

      I would recommend starting with Ocarina of Time (mainly because it is my favorite), but if Twilight Princess is also an amazing game to start out with. It’s really up to you! Do you like top down games or 3D rendered games? That’ll make a huge difference. If you like top down oriented games then start with A Link to the Past.

      • Vitosal says:

        i prefer 3d rendered but have no problem with top down as long as the gameplay is decent and the story is good. I’m thinking chrono trigger right now…god i love that game

      • Joel Palermo says:

        I actually just bought that game for my brother for his DS. I’ve heard phenomenal things about that game. I’d love to pick it up on the SNES someday.

  3. Vitosal says:

    i think i’ve got that playing on my psp, 🙂 Wasn’t Zelda originally on SNES? Cause then I’m sure i could jam that on my psp

  4. Vitosal says:

    hey, I’m sick at the moment, and just got Zela, Link to the Past working on my PSP. 🙂

  5. brandonmc87 says:

    Aside from Moldorm, I’m a fan of the entire list. Love that Phantom Ganon gets some dap (he was the hardest boss for me during my first playthrough; plus, shooting the paintings has an eerie brilliance to it). Bongo Bongo and any Ghirahim boss should be close to the top 10. Same goes for Stallord from TP.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      Yeah Phantom Ganon always seems to get overlooked, which is unfortunate because he is a very unique boss! Bongo Bongo from OoT is brilliant. Such a creepy boss. Sounds like you should make a list of your own! 😀

      • brandonmc87 says:

        There are a ton of stellar bosses in the 3D Zeldas. Half of OoT’s gallery could make my list, as could a bunch from TP, SS, and WW. Majora’s Mask is lacking aside from Goht and Majora himself (Gyorg and Twinmold are laughable, though Odwalla (sp?) is underrated. As for the 2D bosses, the final boss of Oracle of Seasons is the only one who sticks out as amazing in my book.

      • Joel Palermo says:

        That’s my problem. I’ve played all of the 3D games, so my list is a bit biased. I haven’t played most of the 2D games, but I know they also have a great lineup. Many of the 2D Zelda games are on my list of “need to play” games. And as for Dungeons, no I have not made a list for those yet. I’ll definitely make one in the near future though!

      • brandonmc87 says:

        Did you do a Top 10 list for Dungeons yet?

  6. Pingback: A Link Between Worlds – How is it different? | Gaming News For You

  7. Crash says:

    Nice list… I agree with almost all of these! But about Demise… think about it… You fight him in the same place Adult Link and Zelda said there good byes in OoT! O.o

Leave a Reply

