New Games on the Horizon: Condemned & Silent Hill HD Collection

So, in order to hold me over until The Evil Within comes out on the Xbox One, I decided to make a few awesome purchases in the category of survival-horror today.  I went out to Gamestop and picked up both Condemned: Criminal Origins and Silent Hill HD Collection.  I’m extremely excited to play both of these games, especially seeing as I’ve never played any of the games in the Silent Hill series.  Condemned, on the other hand, is a story of its own.

There are a few things I’m very excited about regarding Silent Hill.  First off, the HD collection includes both Silent Hill 2  and Silent Hill 3.  I wouldn’t have even known about this awesome combo had it not been for Vitosal at Gamers Therapy, so thank you for informing me!  He runs a great gaming blog, so you should definitely hop over there and check it out!  Second, Triangle Head, as most of you know, is extremely iconic and will most likely scare the hell out of you whenever he appears.  For that reason alone I am psyched to play both games in the collection.  Finally, I’ve been craving a good scary game for some time now.  Up until recently the scariest game I’ve played was probably F.E.A.R. 2, which was pretty intense, but I’ve known for a while that there are games like the Silent Hill HD Collection and Condemned  that are better when it comes to making the player feel on edge.  Now, on to Condemned.

Surprisingly, I purchased Condemned for no other reason than seeing the mannequin scene from the game on YouTube a few weeks a go.  (If you don’t know what I’m talking about I’ve posted the video below.)  I’ve heard good things about this game over the years and so I finally decided to pick it up today (and for an incredible price).  Seeing as the game came out in 2005, it cost a mere $5 at Game Stop, which meant there was no way I was going to pass it up!  I’ve already begun playing through the first 20 minutes or so of the game and I can tell that I’m in for a whole lot of scares and a multitude of moments where I’ll find myself on the edge of my seat.  Aside from that, I’m looking forward to the detective side of the story.  One of the main components of the game is using your detective equipment to find clues about the killer in the game, which can feel very creepy at times when you realize that you’re viewing the game through a small digital camera.  I can’t be sure, but I can assume that I’ll be taking some pictures of some weird stuff throughout the game.  Anyway, I’m very excited to play both of these games as I’ll be posting updates on each throughout my playthroughs.  Stay tuned!

Also, I’m interested in acquiring more survival-horror games, so if you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments section!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in PS3, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Games on the Horizon: Condemned & Silent Hill HD Collection

  1. Drainford says:

    I actually just recently bought the Silent Hill HD Collection for Xbox having never played a Silent Hill game before but the world within the game has always fascinated me. It’s truly one of the most nerve wracking things I’ve ever experienced but I’m not at all that far into it. The atmosphere is fantastic, I’ve been on edge so many times and it’s getting worse :P.

    Great post by the way.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      I’m so looking forward to starting in on these games! Like you mentioned, I too have never played any of the games, so I’m so ready to experience the world of Silent Hill. Thanks for your comment and for the follow!

      • Drainford says:

        I follow what I like. It’s also great to have contrasting view points on things like these. Helps keep conversation and future posts fresh and full of topics.

  2. Fallyn says:

    I remember Condemned in probably the worst ways, I think I made it up to and just past the mannequin scene before I gave up, it was still an excellent game even without finishing it. The Silent Hill collection, for me, wasn’t that great but I remember playing the original releases of them and not being as impressed as most people were so I was already a little biased when the HD collection came out too. I will give it this though, it does look a hell of a lot better than the original release.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      Yeah, Condemned is amazing so far! I started Silent Hill 2, but it’s a bit wonky. It looks fairly decent, but the camera is psychotic and the combat is pretty weird…I won’t give up though!!!

      • Fallyn says:

        Yeah those were pretty much the reasons I stopped playing the Silent Hill games, but that’s because I lost patience, I already have a short attention span so if I have to fight with a game for controls or camera angles I usually don’t play for long…there are exceptions but not many.

  3. Vitosal says:

    yeah control’s are are definitely outdated for Silent Hill 2, but if you can get past it, it really is good. Also, play Amnesia…that game was f****ing epic! I never actually finished it because it was to nerve wrecking. I don’t think it was for PS3, but it should play on your PC. Oh and thanks for shout out.

  4. Grady Meston says:

    Excellent post. I haven’t played any of the Silent Hill series, but I’ve heard 2 and 3 are excellent. For overall atmosphere, I’m not sure anything can top the original Bioshock. I wouldn’t call it outright “scary,” but definitely creepy.

    I keep picking up FEAR 2 at Gamestop but haven’t actaully picked it up. So many games, such little time.

    Great post! Look forward to reading more.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      Thanks so much! Funny you mention Bioshock because you’re totally right. The atmosphere is thick in that game and does make you feel uneasy as you play. Certainly one of my favorite games I’v ever played.
      You’re not missing a whole lot with FEAR 2. It’s a good game, but it’s full of more supernatural ghost scares, which really doesn’t do all that much for me in the category of horror. Still, if you get a chance it doesn’t hurt to give it a go.
      Thanks again!

  5. Pingback: Finally, I’m Done! Condemned: Criminal Origins | Ocarina Of Time Nerd

Leave a Reply

