Free Games With Gold: Where’d All The Good Games Go?

Fable III, Defense Grid, Assassin’s Creed 2, Crackdown, and Dead Rising 2.  What do all of these games have in common?  Well, they’re all part of Microsoft’s “Free Games with Gold” campaign, which was recently implemented this past June and I can’t help but feel a bit confused by the games we’ve seen thus far.  Aside from Assassin’s Creed 2, there hasn’t been much of a reason to download any of these games.  Granted, that is merely my personal opinion, but I’m sure there are others out there who aren’t necessarily pleased by Microsoft’s free game line up.

Considering Microsoft’s current program is still very young compared to Playstation Plus, I do feel inclined to give it a bit of grace.  That being said, why are we receiving titles like Defense Grid?  If Microsoft wants to bolster its online numbers it should have released a series of blockbuster titles at the beginning of the program to gain consumer trust.  Instead, Microsoft manipulated the consumer market by throwing out names like “Halo 3,” which sounded great, but big name titles like Halo are yet to make an appearance.   For those of us who already have Xbox Live it’s not that big of a deal because the free games we’re receiving are essentially icing on the cake, but it still doesn’t excuse releases like Crackdown and Defense Grid.  If it is in fact the goal of Microsoft to make us feel rewarded for being loyal Xbox Live Gold Memebers then they should show it by means of better free game releases.  

What do you think?  Are you satisfied with the free games released to Xbox Live Gold Members so far?  Vote using the poll below or drop me a comment in the comments section.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free Games With Gold: Where’d All The Good Games Go?

  1. Fallyn says:

    I think “better” releases is a little subjective, and like you said in a sense, it is essentially personal preference, I’m not so much satisfied or dissatisfied so much as I’m just glad they are making the effort and I think they are making the effort partly in response to the fact that Sony has been doing this for a while now and it works it does make people feel rewarded…and Sony doesn’t have a perfect track record either, Sleeping Dogs leaps to mind.

    • Joel says:

      Yeah, ultimately I’m not necessarily satisfied or dissatisfied. I actually took a look at Sony’s Playstation Plus games while writing this and I would have to agree with you. There have been some lame games on there as well. I guess I’m just fed up with Microsoft as of late. They just seem like the sneaky kid who keeps getting caught with the hand in the cookie jar (that cookie jar being our bank accounts). In the end, they are giving us free games so I can’t really complain that much I suppose. Thanks for your input!

  2. cary says:

    I don’t quite get their choice of games either. I was really looking forward to the Free Games with Gold promotion, but seriously…Fable III? Crackdown?? No thanks. I don’t get Microsoft’s strategy in offering the titles they’ve chosen, and I doubt any would attract people to the console. Sure, free is free, but free doesn’t mean great. Maybe they’re saving the big guns for the next couple months? Maybe.

Leave a Reply

