Why I’m Getting An Xbox One

As far as I’m concerned there aren’t a whole lot of differences between the Xbox One and the PS4 since Microsoft flipped its policies on DRM and online connectivity, but there are a few deal breakers for myself personally and I’d like to outline what those are and why they’ve prompted me to pre-order an Xbox One.  That’s not to say I won’t necessarily buy a PS4 in the future, but for now I’m set on siding with Microsoft and here’s why…

1. My Xbox Live Account

Xbox Live logo since 2005

I’ve been a member of Xbox Live for over for years now and as a service it has provided me with countless hours of fun on a variety of different levels, including: movies, games, music, etc.  Seeing as the Xbox One utilizes the same Xbox Live account as the 360, it makes sense to continue utilizing Microsoft’s online service for both the 360 and the One.    What really convinced me is the fact that Sony will now be charging customers to play games online with the release of the PS4, which is sad because I probably would have gone the PlayStation route had its online gaming continued to be free.  Because I had planned to continue buying Xbox Live after the release of the new consoles, it doesn’t make any sense for me to pay two different subscription fees when I’ll be able to utilize my existing account on the Xbox One and my 360.  Had Sony continued to provide a free service the title of this article probably would have been different.

2. The Controller

I cannot stand the PlayStation controller.  There, I said it.  This may seem like a bit of an exaggeration, but my experiences with Sony’s controllers haven’t been pleasant to say the least.  I hate the positioning of the left thumbstick and the controller feels rather light and cheap.  I also always find my thumbs slipping off of the sticks.  I know people have reported that the dual shock 4 is now improved, but it’s not enough to sell me on the PS4 itself.  I apologize if I offend and PlayStation fans with these statements, but it’s merely my opinion.  I’ve been using the 360’s controller for some time now and if the Xbox One’s controller is anything like its cousin then I know I’ll be satisfied.  The positioning of the thumbsticks feels natural and the weight of the controller feels perfect when playing a game.  It also contours very well to the hands of the player, which is rather important when playing for long periods of time.  Bottom line, what I use to play a game is very important to me and I’m sure the Xbox One controller will be no exception.

3. Xbox Exclusives

whos ready for halo 5

For many, exclusive titles usually end up being the deciding factor when trying to decide which console to buy and I’ve certainly taken this into account.  I was very impressed with Microsoft’s showing of games at E3 this past June and although Sony brought some heavy hitters to the table as well, Microsoft had two games that could sell just about anybody: Halo 5 and Titanfall.  As a Halo fan I’ve become a bit skeptical as to where the franchise is heading under the jurisdiction of 343 Industries, but I’m optimistic about the birth of a new Halo game on a next gen system.  Before Microsoft’s policy changes many Xbox fans were being forced to turn to Sony, which is a shame for Halo because it would have cut the fan base drastically.  Fortunately, we don’t have to worry about that anymore, which means we’ll be able to look forward to playing Halo again!

Titanfall

The second game I mentioned was Titanfall, which is a futuristic FPS developed by Respawn Entertainment.  Currently, it has been announced as an exclusive for Xbox One, but my guess is that it will end up on the PS4 at a later date as well.  Regardless, I want to get this game the second it comes out, mainly due to the impressive gameplay demonstrated at E3.  I don’t know about you, but there’s nothing cooler than getting a game the first day it comes out if you’ve been waiting for it for a long time.  When it does get released I want to play it first.  I want to learn the ins and outs of the game and because it is an exclusive on the One, I will now be able to do just that.


Titanfall’s gameplay footage from E3

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Xbox, Xbox 360, Xbox One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I’m Getting An Xbox One

  1. I’m trying to decide which console to get first. I will get both for sure but I was thinking Xbox and the only real reason was for titanfall. But then I heard that titanfall will be release on the 360 and PC too so hmm still undecided. I think the ps4 will have more to play in the form of indie games at least right off the bat

    • Joel says:

      From an indie standpoint PS4 will probably be the way to go, but I think we’ll see a fair share of indie games on Xbox as well. I’m not super big into indie games, so it’s not as much of a factor for me, but it’s still definitely something in the back on my mind.
      Thanks for your comment!

  2. Great post! It’s good to hear someone still supporting Microsoft and Xbox. I’ve always been an Xbox gamer, so your first point makes a lot of sense for me too.

    But mostly… I totally agree with you about the controller! Even if the Dual Shock 4 controller is a huge improvement over the 3, the Xbox controller has always been superb. Nothing can beat it, in my opinion. Maybe the Dual Shock 4 will match it… but probably not.

    • Joel says:

      Yeah I was super bummed when the Xbox One was initially announced because there was no way I was ever going to buy a console with so many restrictions. Reluctantly, I was going to pre-order a PS4, but Microsoft got the hint and for that I feel content in continuing to support its console. I’m super excited for this generation of consoles!

      So glad you agree about the controllers as well. I was recently playing The Last of Us on my friends PS3 and I couldn’t believe how uncomfortable the dual shock 3 controller is. My left thumb felt uncomfortable and unnatural the entire time. I also kept having to realign myself in concordance with the thumbsticks whenever my thumb slipped off the grip. Everything just feels more natural on a 360 controller!

      Thanks for taking the time to comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

