Xbox One: Too Little Too Late?

Recently we witnessed something amazing within the domain of the video game industry.  Our opinion made a difference.  We the consumers (the fuel of big companies like Microsoft) were able to force Microsoft into reversing their policies regarding DRM and 24-hour online checks on the company’s new console.  This is a monumental victory for gamers everywhere, but was it enough to get everybody back on board with the Xbox One?

I would like to personally note that I have been an Xbox fan since the original Xbox, which was released back in 2001.  The reason I bring that up is because, until Microsoft reversed its policies regarding the Xbox One, I was seriously considering going with Sony’s PS4 for my next console.  That’s a big deal for me, especially considering I’ve never owned a Sony console to date.  That being said, Microsoft was making it extremely difficult to side with a console that implemented more restrictions than it did freedoms from a consumer standpoint.  And, although those restrictions have been removed, I still feel extremely dissatisfied with the way Microsoft handled this whole fiasco.  Regardless, at least now we can compare the Xbox One and the PS4 at a neutral level based on real pros and cons.

So, let’s take a look at what the Xbox One currently has to offer now that its policies have been changed.  Please note that I am a fan of Microsoft and some of my views are subjective.  Also, none of these elements of the Xbox One have anything to do with the power of the system.  I’m comparing it on an equal plane with the PS4.

Pros

1. The ability to share physical copies of games (Important when comparing to prior policies)

2. The best controller on the market (In my opinion)

3. Halo as an exclusive series

4. A much more vibrant and personable user interface (which now includes Skype)

But, with all that is now good about the Xbox One, I’m still not so sure it’s enough to beat out the PS4 and here’s why:

Cons

1. The Kinect is still required for the console to function

2. Xbox One costs $100 more than the PS4

3. PS4 has backwards compatibility via the Cloud

4. You must pay for Xbox Live Gold in order to run streaming services like Netflix (not the case with the PS4)

5. Microsoft did a terrible job at launching their new console

That last one is what I believe resonates with a lot of Microsoft fans at this point.  Had Microsoft slowly introduced the idea of family sharing and DRM explicitly within the digital game market only, I believe that the Xbox One would have been well received.  Unfortunately, Microsoft forced new policies on a consumer base that wasn’t ready to give up their rights to play games at a social level in which physical copies still represent a comfortable sense of ownership.  I have personally flip-flopped from being an avid Xbox fan, to a possible PS4 owner, and then back again to the Xbox One fan club.  Although I’ll most likely be getting an Xbox One simply because I love Halo so much and because I’m already paying for Xbox Live on my 360, Microsoft as a company has made itself look downright stupid in the past few months.  The company as a whole has neglected its driving force, the simple consumer.  Fortunately, our voices were heard and we can fall asleep at night knowing that the Xbox One is something that each of us could comfortably buy this coming Fall without having to worry about actually owning our games…

I’d like to know what you think as a gamer.  Are you going with the Xbox One or are you going with the PS4.  Leave me a comment and tell me why!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Xbox One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Xbox One: Too Little Too Late?

  1. Flood says:

    I’ve Always had both systems and each had its better qualities, but this time Microsoft just will not get my money this time. Regardless of them listening to their customers opinions, they still have to revamp this whole new system in order to match Sony in their release date. Microsoft has been behind in the game ever since they took marketing advice from their competition. Sony sold the rights to microsoft for the disc marking (anti-game sharing) ploy for A LOT of money. Sony literally sold something people would HATE to Microsoft and Microsoft fell for it.

    Sony has never failed in their attempts to please their fans, and their Controllers are their only problem for me. Microsoft lost a big fan with this release, and they will not buy me back because honestly they are not ready to put out a new system that is actually good to gamers. When they are though, I will be watching

    • Joel says:

      I agree. Microsoft’s launch of this new console has been underwhelming to say the least. I hadn’t actually heard anything about Sony selling rights to any of the policies implemented by Microsoft, but it that is indeed true it’s a bit ironic.
      I just hope the Xbox One is everything it’s chalked up to be at this point.

  2. Fallyn says:

    Long run I’ll end up with both but I’m going Xbox One first and mostly for the exclusives and also because I have little to no faith in game releases on the PS4, I fell for that on the Vita and I’m not gonna jump in on that on the PS4 day one. The price difference (when you crunch the numbers) isn’t that big if your talking whole packages since you have to buy the PS4 Eye bar separately, sure the system does work without it and it’s a fair point but if you want it you still have to pay for it…that argument can go either way. The whole backwards compatible via the cloud I’m not sold on either, if it won’t play the disc games I’m not going to buy them a second time just to not play them either and while you don’t have to pay for Netflix on the PS4 you are going to have to pay for multiplayer now which has really been largely ignored from what I’ve seen lately.

    This doesn’t mean I’m 100% happy with everything Microsoft has done, but I also haven’t been one to jump ship so rapidly because of their initial blunders before the system came out. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, 5 months is a long time for things to change, we’ve already seen some change and there really isn’t telling how much more if any we’ll see from either side, Sony hasn’t been a pure angel in the past either, both systems are always going to have their faults and major screw ups and I’m not one to completely cast either aside before they release they’re systems right now it is and will be all talk until November anyway.

    • Joel says:

      I would have to agree with the price difference angle. I personally don’t enjoy the kinect or any other camera based supplement to a console, which is why I’m a bit frustrated with the Kinect 2 being required, but I’m sure it will add some cool features. I also have my consoles in my bedroom, which is small. This is another reason I’m not a big fan of the Kinect. It’s not really made for tight spaces, but I have heard the Kinect 2 is adaptable to smaller areas, which is good news for me.

      Regarding backwards compatibility, I am in the same boat. It’s pointless to re-buy a game if you’ve already bought it once. I think people would simply like the option to do so with the Xbox One. It’s not a deal breaker for me though. Honestly, I have no problem owning my 360 along Xbox One because my 360 still plays my old Xbox original games, which is something I really enjoy about that particular console.
      I personally jumped ship because the reality I was facing with the Xbox One before its policy changes were implemented was making for a rather bleak gaming reality. I’m sure it would have worked out ok, but I put so much stock in being able to lend games to my brothers and friends that I simply couldn’t bring myself to support the prior demands of the Xbox One. I know we don’t have the whole story on either console to date, but things look much better for Microsoft. As for Sony, I would probably buy a PS4 over a One, but I LOVE Halo and I really don’t like PlayStation controllers. Therefore, I have to stick with Microsoft in the initial release of the next-gen consoles.

      Thanks for your thoughts!

      -Ocarina of Time Nerd

Leave a Reply

