My World of Gaming These Past Few Months

It’s been a while since I last wrote anything new on here, so I decided it was time to update everyone on my video game adventures these past few months.  I’ll basically be giving you a mini breakdown of a few games I’ve played or completed since December.  I’m talking about Dead Space 3, The Legend of Zelda The Windwaker, Banjo-Kazooie, Donkey Kong Country and my somewhat recent completion of Ocarina of Time.  Also, I’ll share a little bit about the NES console I received about a month a go.  Feel free to ask me any questions about the games I’ve played or the console!

Ocarina of Time

It took me a while, but I finally completed The Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time for the first time without a strategy guide and it was an extremely rewarding feeling.  I don’t know why I never attempted to complete the game without a strategy guide before, but I’m glad I took the time to do so over the last year.  It was a long road, but I’d gladly walk down it again.

My journey actually started toward the end of summer last year.  I had started getting back into retro games around that time, which is why I purchased my gold N64 and Ocarina of Time off ebay.  I decided to take my time playing through the game in order to completely soak in everything that makes Ocarina of Time my favorite game of all time.  In fact, taking the extra time to complete the game actually made it feel even more epic for me when I finally completed it because it felt as though I had been on an actual journey.  I finished the game last month (January) and the biggest thing I noticed is that not using a strategy game makes it so much better.  I guess I really sucked as a kid or something because, although some of the dungeons were difficult, the game as a whole is very manageable.  Anyway, I’m sure I’ll be playing through OoT sometime again in the near future!

Donkey Kong Country

Donkey Kong Country

I picked up my Super Nintendo in near perfect condition last year at a flea market in my area, but it wasn’t until recently that I obtained any good games to play.  My mom was kind enough to get me Donkey Kong Country for Christmas and I honestly couldn’t be happier.  It took me back to the day I got my original Super Nintendo nearly 13 years a go.  I remember unwrapping it and being so frickin’ excited to see that it was bundled with Donkey Kong Country.  Those were the days weren’t they?  The console bundles just seemed so much better back then.  I’d much rather get a game like Donkey Kong Country with a Super Nintendo than Wii Sports with the Wii.  Anyway, my brother and I have been playing through this game and I had forgotten how ridiculously difficult it is.  We’re on the fourth world and we’re stuck.  It’s the ice world that brings you to your knees and makes you beg for mercy.  We’ve basically given up for the time being, but we’ll be back soon enough, I’m sure of it.

Banjo-Kazooie

Treasurecove_Island_Fly

I’m one of those noob gamers who only played the second Banjo-Kazooie games, Banjo-Tooie, and I completely regret it because the first game is totally awesome.  Granted, the second game is probably the better of the two, but there’s something extremely magical about the first one.  I got it for Christmas as well and in the short amount of time I’ve had to play it I’ve managed to have a ton of fun.

Mumbos_Mountain_Konga4

When Rare was in its prime it really knew how to make great games and products such as Diddy Kong Racing, Conker’s Bad Fur Day, and the Banjo-Kazooie games are all testimonials to the company’s success.  I’m not very far into Banjo-Kazooie, but I’m very excited to continue playing a game I neglected during my childhood.  I’ll be sure to talk about it more in a post later on down the road.

The Windwaker

You’d probably be surprised to know that I’ve never actually played through The Legend of Zelda The Windwaker until recently.  I’m probably about 3/4 done with the game and I’ve enjoyed every moment of it.  I used to be one of those graphic sticklers who hated anything that looked cartoonish or unrealistic, but my brother convinced me to give Windwaker a try and I absolutely love it.

I’ve come to realize that the art style used isn’t necessarily bad, it’s just different.  I’m a big time fan of the Twilight Princess art style as well as Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask, which is why Windwaker always held such a stigma in my eyes.  I just thought it strayed too far away from what The Legend of Zelda of series is all about, but the Zelda series is so much more than that.  It’s about captivating tales of adventure and getting lost in a world apart from your own.  Although the Windwaker isn’t the best Zelda game out there, it is certainly one of the most unique and captivating in the series.  Bottom line, if you haven’t played it you better find yourself a copy because it is well worth your time.

Dead Space 3

There’s not much to say about this game other than it kicks major ass.  If you’ve seen My Top 20 Video Games list, you know that the original Dead Space is #3 on that list.  Everything about the first game in the series is nearly perfect, but EA outdid themselves with Dead Space 3.  I would go as far as to say that it could easily take the #2 spot on my list of top games.

It’s the perfect mix of Dead Space and Dead Space 2.  It takes the concept of an eery, lonesome landscape and action packed sequences that keep you on your toes from the previous games.  It really feels as though the series returned to its roots and what made the first game so successful. Although you are on a planet, Tau Volantis, in the third game, it still makes you feel claustrophobic and majorly uneasy.  I also really enjoy the fact that the first third of the game takes place away from Tau Volantis.  It just makes the story seem more believable and provides a variety of scenery for the player.  Oh, and the weapon crafting is awesome, especially when playing co-op with someone.  I’ll go into more detail later, but I just wanted to shoot out a few quick thoughts!  Look for more soon!

Legend of Zelda NES

tumblr_mgqvekULju1rsypmao1_500Alright, here’s the final update in this post.  As you may already know I love retro video games, but I hadn’t had a functioning NES console until recently.  Over my winter break I decided to pony up and spend some cash on a custom Legend of Zelda console from ebay. Overall I’m pretty happy with it, but I had to do a lot of touch up on overspray from the gold spray paint.  There were also other small imperfections and areas where the seller neglected to spray the black paint on the underside of the console.  For $77 I was hoping for better craftsmanship, but hey…I’ve got an awesome Zelda NES that plays games perfectly, so I’m pretty happy overall!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Gamecube, Nintendo 64, Nintendo Entertainment System (NES), Super Nintendo, The Legend of Zelda, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

