Dishonored: My Honest Opinion

dishonored_005It’s been about a week and a half since I started my quest in the city of Dunwall and it has ultimately left me at a loss for words.  I LOVED this game so much!  Everything about it riveted me as a gamer.  I loved the way it looked.  I loved the way the movement felt in the game.  And ultimately, I loved the story itself.  Any game that gives me a choice to decide its outcome usually leaves me wanting more.  It makes the game feel more personal and that’s exactly what I want from a video game.

When the game first started I was a bit unsure as to what I was getting myself into.  I had seen the trailers, which introduce the outsider, but I really didn’t know what it all meant, nor did I know what the plot of the story was.  Luckily, it wasn’t long before the prologue had filled me in and enticed me into playing the game behind the eyes of Corvo Attano, a man who literally loses his life at the hands of corrupt men whose only mission is to claim Dunwall for themselves.  Add a rat plague into the equation, an awesome assassin’s mask and supernatural abilities, and you’ve got yourself a recipe for success.

What makes me especially obsessed with this game is the relationship between yourself (Corvo) and the empress and her daughter, Emily Kaldwin.  The entire story is centralized around Emily and it is your duty to protect her while also retaking the city with a group of loyalists to ensure her rightful place as future empress of Dunwall.  To reach this conclusion, you must eliminate key targets, but there’s a catch.  You can achieve your goals through violence and chaos, or you can use stealth in order to remain unseen.  Both play styles will yield a different ending, but one is much darker than the other.  Your actions directly affect Emily as well as other characters in the game, which is why I love this game so much.  I played through the first time without killing anyone, which produced a happy ending.  For me personally, I love stealth games so I loved being rewarded for this type of playing style.  When I played the game at the opposite end of the spectrum everything felt dark and it made me sad to realize that my actions were perverting the mind of Emily.  Sounds silly, but give the game a shot and you’ll know what I mean.  The one thing I wish Arkane studios could have done better involves the endings themselves.  There aren’t any theatrics in the endings at all, which is a major bummer considering I put a lot of hours into beating the game in high chaos and low chaos.  All-in-all the endings just aren’t rewarding enough compared to the gameplay itself.  Hopefully, if they make a Dishonored 2, they put more effort into the resolution of the story.

Finally, I’d like to touch on the mechanics of the game itself.  The in-game movement is awesome.  I literally have no complaints.  It feels like a mix between Skyrim, Bioshock, and Assassin’s Creed.  The melee mechanics are a bit tricky at first, but once you get the hang of it you’ll have no problems at all.  Secondary weapons and supernatural powers from the outsider are used from the left hand much like Skyrim or Bioshock, which makes for a variety of interesting combos.  Aside from that, you literally have free reign over the levels.  You can climb pretty much EVERYTHING and if you don’t believe me I dare you to prove me wrong.  Granted you are confined by the level designs to an extent, but the levels themselves are pretty huge for the most part so you don’t end up feeling claustrophobic at any point in the game.  Supernatural powers are awesome, stealth mode (crouching to move quietly) is amazingly cool, and assassinating people is oh so rewarding.  Dishonored is simply the best game I’ve played in a long while.  It’s a whole new take on an assassination game and I couldn’t have asked for anything better.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dishonored: My Honest Opinion

  1. You didn’t kill anybody? I’m so jealous you managed to accomplish that! I got way too impatient. Though I wasn’t terribly into Dishonored’s story or ending, I agree with you that the supernatural powers and balcony/roof climbing made the game incredibly fun.

  2. Pingback: I am an impatient gamer « Recollections of Play

Leave a Reply

