All I Want For Christmas Is My NES

English: A NES console with the Super Mario Br...

There’s something special in the air this holiday season.  I don’t know if it’s the fresh winter air or the fact that the past few months have ushered forth one of the greatest video game seasons of my lifetime.  You know what I’m talking about.  Here’s what we’re looking at between the months of October and February: Dishonored, Assassin’s Creed 3, Halo 4, Dead Space 3, and Bioshock Infinite.  That is unfreakinbelievable.  So many good games in such a short period of time.  Although I’m psyched for the new games being released this holiday season, there’s another reason why I’m so excited for Christmas.  For the first time in nearly 12 years my NES is coming home.

Super Mario NES games

Years a go my brothers and I agreed to take our NES up to our grandpa’s cabin as a “donation” so that all of our cousins could play it whenever anyone decided to spend time there.  For the longest time it sat in that old cabin waiting to be played and brought back to life, but I had forgotten about it until this year.  The past few months have fostered a revival in my love for video games, especially old-school video games on the NES and SNES.  So, it goes without saying that I’m beyond excited for my grandpa to bring my NES back to our house for Christmas.  To make things even better, my brother purchased Battletoads a few months a go, which means we already have a classic game to play.  I’m pretty sure he’s also bringing back all of our classic games like Mario Bros. 3, Ninja Turtles, and Paperboy.

Gameplay in which the player-character Ryu Hay...

Although I’m a 90s kid, I was pretty much raised on the NES.  That may sound odd to people considering the NES thrived primarily in the 80s, but I’ve always loved the early Nintendo titles.  The games themselves are so basic, yet impossibly hard.  The concept of “Nintendo hard” truly does separate the true gamers from the casual ones.  Games like Ninja Gaiden will bring you to your knees and break you if you even think about trying to beat it.  The era of the NES was an era marked by intense gameplay and I can’t wait to welcome it back home this Christmas.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All I Want For Christmas Is My NES

  1. So true, the games back then were so difficult. I try to take my NES out and play it at least once a month to remember were we (gamers) came from

Leave a Reply

