I Miss My Gameboy

Gameboy Advance On

It may be the kid in me speaking, but I really miss my Gameboy and not only for Pokemon games.  I miss it for games like Super Mario Bros. and Donkey Kong Country.  I miss it for the car rides spent with my cousins and brothers as we hunted down the three legendary dogs in Crystal version.  I miss it simply because it reminds me of a simpler time where the only thing I had to worry about was running out of batteries.

That's me on the right with my Gameboy Pocket

That’s me on the right with my Gameboy Pocket

All in all I think it’s fair to say that I miss my Gameboy primarily because I sold it at a time when I really wasn’t that in to video games.  I must note that I haven’t always been such an avid gamer.  I’ve always played video games, but it wasn’t until this last year that I really threw myself into the world of video games.  I’ve done this so much so that I’ve even begun recollecting N64, SNES, and NES games again.  Talk about nostalgia right?  That being said, I don’t currently have any plans to reacquire a Gameboy or my old games at any point in the near future.  I guess it’s just one of those days where I remember what it was like bringing my Gameboy places to keep me company rather than my iPhone nowadays.  It’s just a different time in my life, which isn’t a bad thing, but I’ll always remember the days spent ignoring the outside world while I feverishly raised my Pokemon.

English: A Nintendo DS Lite, shown with stylus.

I’m not one of those past generation elitists who believes that the current generation sucks when it comes to handheld systems nowadays, but I do believe that my generation, which was dominated by the Gameboy Color, Advance, and SP, was extremely spoiled.  To me personally, the DS is just so awkward.  Not bad, just unorthodox if you will.  My brother tells me that it plays classic Nintendo games like Mario Bros, Ocarina of Time 3D, and other games of similar association quite well, but when it comes to games outside of that circle, it just doesn’t contend with the Nintendo handheld systems of our era.  I’m not judging, it’s just my opinion.  Regardless, the main point is that I simply miss my Gameboy!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Gameboy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Miss My Gameboy

  1. Fallyn says:

    I may be showing my age, but I remember getting the original Gameboy, that hulking, grey, two color mass of plastic and spending hours upon hours playing Tetris and Mega Man and who could forget Legend of Zelda Links Awakening. I know I’ve had pretty much every release of the system since then and while the new ones are good, the games are much more complicated than they used to be, I may still have the Nintendo handhelds but I’m with you as far as the games, I miss those old ones, especially Pokémon Blue….okay and Mega Man 2, it was the only one of the classic MM games I could actually beat at the time.

    • Joel Palermo says:

      I’m actually jealous that you got to dive deep into games like Mega Man. I was thrown into such an awkward era as a kid in the mid 90s when the old was sort of evolving into the new. The difference between then and now is that now it feels more like a transformation that an evolution, but hey that’s not necessarily a bad thing.
      I’m totally with you though. I miss my Red Version! I spent so many hours on that game. At least they released Fire Red and Leaf Green though!

Leave a Reply

