My Favorite Video Game Character: Kyle Katarn

In keeping with the theme of ranking games and characters, I’ve decided to dedicate a post to my all-time favorite video game character.  This is really tough because in thinking about this a few different characters came to mind.  At first, Isaac Clarke came to mind because I’m a huge fan of the Dead Space franchise, but when it came down to it he just didn’t have enough personality, nor has he been given enough time to progress as a character in such a young series.  Master Chief was also a candidate, but until Halo 4 he also hasn’t had much personality.  When I really think deep into what makes a video game character great, I think of someone most people probably know very little about.  His name is Kyle Katarn and he truly is my favorite video game character.

My pick for Kyle Katarn as my favorite video game character didn’t come about until I first played Star Wars: Jedi Outcast – Jedi Knight II.  Up until that point I honestly had no idea who he was, but it wasn’t long before I found myself laughing at his “bad-ass” comments and his rogue attitude.  He is the perfect combination of seriousness and comedy.  Whoever developed Kyle Katarn for Jedi Knight II, I tip my hat to you.  With lines like, “Corellian ale…in a clean glass” and “I’m no jedi, I’m just a guy with a lightsaber and a couple of questions” how could you not love Kyle Katarn?  The dude is literally the Chuck Norris of the Star Wars universe and that’s saying something.


Here is one of my favorite Kyle Katarn scenes from Jedi Knight II

Jan Ors (left) and Kyle Katarn (right) in the ...

Jan Ors (left) and Kyle Katarn (right)

Finally, from a gameplay standpoint Kyle Katarn is straight up hardcore.  The dude takes on hundreds of stormtroopers and an entire sith uprising alongside his love interest, Jan Ors.  I guess the combination of Star Wars, shotgun comedy, and witty dialogue all serve to build my idea of the perfect video game character.  To demonstrate my loyalty Kyle Katarn is even the inspiration for my Xbox Live gamertag: Katarn24.  Bottom line, you can’t go wrong with Kyle Katarn.

If you haven’t played Jedi Outcast – Jedi Knight II, I highly recommend that you make it a goal to do so.  It’s tons of fun and you’ll get more than a few good laughs from the characters.  Katarn24 signing out!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Gamecube, Xbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Favorite Video Game Character: Kyle Katarn

  1. very nice put up, i actually love this website, carry on it

  2. Pingback: My Elements of a Great Video Game | Ocarina Of Time Nerd

  3. SVwg says:

    350956 811676I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for putting up. 539174

Leave a Reply

