My Top 3 Multiplayer Video Games

In my video game endeavors I have played a variety of games, both single-player and multiplayer.  I love a good story-based game that allows you to be in control of a single character as you progress, but I also enjoy games that promote teamwork or an all out brawl with your friends.  Both types of games are special in their own right, but today I’d like to talk about a few of my favorite multiplayer video games.  They’ve made this list because they are the cream of the crop.  They are the best of the best.  They are why I love playing video games with friends.  They are my top 3 multiplayer video games.

Super Smash Bros. Melee

#1 Super Smash Bros Melee

Without a doubt Super Smash Bros Melee has got to be my favorite multiplayer video game to play with friends.  It was one of the first games released for the Gamecube, but that still doesn’t change the fact that I still find myself playing it today.  In all honesty, it’s probably more fun to play than Brawl, which is saying a lot because Brawl is a great game in and of itself.  I guess SSBM just got everything right.  It’s one of those rare games where it feels like there is absolutely nothing that needs to be changed and that is the Holy Grail for gamers everywhere.  The characters are classic, the levels demonstrate variety, and the replay ability for Melee is truly infinite.

#2 Left 4 Dead

You may be noticing a theme if you’ve read My Top 20 Video Games page, but this list dives deeper into which games give me the most enjoyment while playing with other people and in all honesty, Left 4 Dead is almost as good as it gets.  There’s just something so relaxing about running through grimy post-apocalyptic streets with your friends while mowing down hordes of zombies.  Even though this game came out a few years a go my friends and I still play online together.  I think what stands out most about this game is that it bridges the gap between simplicity and strategy.  You’re given a single objective on each level: make it from point A to point B.  Seems simple enough right?  Well, the cool thing is that there a lot of forks in the road and Zombies spawn at random, including special infected.  This means that even if you’ve played through the game a million times there is always a chance that it will surprise you, which is what makes playing with your friends so fun when it comes to Left 4 Dead.  In fact…I think I’ll go slay some zombies right now!

#3 Halo 4

Although this game is still pretty new, I have had an incredible amount of fun playing with my friends and my brothers online already.  The cool thing about this game from a multiplayer standpoint is that there are a variety of game modes that can be played with multiple people.  You’re given co-op campaign, Spartan Ops, and War Games, which are all equally fun in my opinion.  There’s just something so satisfying about battling through enemies or other Spartans with a squad of friends at your side because even if you’re getting destroyed, it’s still fun simply because there are other people with you.  Our motto tends to be, “If we’re getting destroyed just jump in a warthog and drive around like an idiot.”  It’s that kind of sentiment that takes away from the stress of the game that is otherwise felt while playing alone online.  This is true for myself at least.  Personally, my favorite mode to play with friends has become Capture the Flag.  We have had some of the most awesome gameplay moments while battling against other teams in that game mode and it’s so rewarding to win a game after putting in such a large amount of team work.  All in all, Halo 4 is a pleasure to play with other people.

This list is sure to expand in time, but these three games have a few key things in common.  One, they are unique and demonstrate a huge amount of creativity.  Two, they possess a huge amount of replayability.  Three, they provide a lot of laughs when played with friends.  That is why they are three of my favorite games.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Gamecube, Xbox 360 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Top 3 Multiplayer Video Games

  1. Fallyn says:

    Excellent choices, I never played much of L4D 2 but that was around the time I had less people to hang out with since most of them moved on and had their own families and that’s definitely one you want people around with, you have just as much fun laughing at their (and your) reactions to something popping out at you as you do actually playing the game.

  2. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a weblog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I have been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast offered bright transparent idea

Leave a Reply

