Which Character I’d Like To See In The Next Super Smash Bros.

It may seem cliché but I would LOVE to see Skull Kid in the next Super Smash Bros. game (presumably on the WII U).  I grew up with the likes of Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask, so it goes without saying that I’m a huge fan of the characters from that legendary era of gaming.  It would be amazing to add a new Legend of Zelda character to SSB‘s franchise, especially the likes of the character who tormented us all in Majora’s Mask.  It’s pretty farfetched, but who knows…maybe Nintendo will cater to the needs of their older generation of gamers for once.

I’m not quite sure how Skull Kid would be implemented into the series as a character regarding his move sets and what not, but I think everyone would love to see that sadistic moon crashing down on a stage as his final smash.  I get stoked just thinking about it.  Another alternative would be for Skull Kid to put on Majora’s Mask as his final smash.  There are a variety of effects this could have, but in short it would probably make him more powerful for a short period of time.  Personally, I’d like to see him wearing the mask at all times, but that’s just me.

Although we can dream, it isn’t likely that we’ll get our dream cast of characters in the next installment of Super Smash Bros.  When it all comes down to it, Nintendo is a progressive company that evolves based on the generation and unfortunately our generation has had its time to shine.  We were involved in a few of the best decades of gaming to date, but now it’s time for the next generation to take over.  What I’m saying is that it’s far more likely for Nintendo to put a character like Ghirahim in the next game to appease the younger generation of Legend of Zelda fans.  It’s not necessarily fair to the older fans, but it is very smart from a sales standpoint.  But hey, we can dream can’t we?

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in 3DS, The Legend of Zelda, Wii, Wii U and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Which Character I’d Like To See In The Next Super Smash Bros.

  1. Fallyn says:

    I don’t know if I’d call Nintendo progressive as much as I’d say they are the biggest name leading the charge in “dumbing down” the game industry, every since the Wii and it’s admittedly well deserved success, everyone else has been following suit and trying to hop on the band wagon of pulling in players that normally would never play games in the first place. Your right, we had our time to shine in our generation of games, but I’m more worried about the future generations of games, even a new Smash Brothers may get the sting of being even more simplified…though I’ve been known to be paranoid about things like that too 😛

    • I agree, dumbing down is a good way to describe Nintendo. It’s become more about the sales than the game content. It’s a smart move, but it neglects the true fans. I don’t blame you for being paranoid at all!

      • Fallyn says:

        Your definitely right about sales, though I think it may apply more to other companies. I do still believe Nintendo wants to bring as many people together as possible and the “family” games environment that they keep bringing really does work, I won’t argue that at all, it’s when other companies like EA or Activision try to do the same thing that end up hurting not only their long time fans but the industry as a whole, family gaming isn’t for everyone, some of them need to stick with what works best or what got them to where they are now.

Leave a Reply

