Battletoads!

If you want a game that is both extremely difficult and painstakingly hilarious at the same time, you might want to give Battletoads for the NES a try.  Developed by Rare in 1991, Battletoads pits three anthropomorphic toads (Zitz, Pimple, and Rash) against the evil Dark Queen.  Essentially, the concept is ridiculous and the game is extremely difficult, but it’s still devilishly fun to play.

I’m not going to pretend to be an expert on this game because I’m not, but I have played it and I’m definitely a fan.  I first learned about this game after seeing it reviewed by the Angry Video Game Nerd a few months a go (view the review on YouTube) and as soon as my brother and I saw the review we bought the game.  Somehow this strange concoction of beat-em-up gameplay and overpowered super attacks can be extremely addicting.  To make things even better, it has co-op capability!  Oh, and did I mention that there is friendly fire as well?  There’s nothing funnier than killing your friend “on accident” with a giant toad fist to the face.

But seriously, what were they thinking when they made this game?  It’s so obscure.  Toads with skin irritations as names running around trying to defeat some evil queen lady while using attacks that increase the size of their appendages; it’s awesome!  It demonstrates some of Rare’s finer work before it was bought up by Microsoft.  Sure, it has its downfalls.  Being an NES game it goes without saying that Battletoads is “Nintendo hard” and near impossible to beat, but it still leaves you wanting more.  Although frustrating, Battletoads is a great game and shall go down in history as one of Nintendo’s more comical titles on the NES.

But don’t let me make up your mind … get Battletoads and give it a try for yourself!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Battletoads!

  1. jdh5153 says:

    I remember playing this on the Genesis all the time. Was definitely a fun game.

    -avideogamelife.com
    -lootit.net

  2. I could never forget Battletoads, that game used to drive me mad, I know I never finished it, never even got past the cycles level early on but as frustrating as it was I still loved it.

Leave a Reply

