A First Look at the Wii U

It’s safe to say that most Nintendo fans have pretty high hopes for the Wii U, but after seeing the Wii U Preview a few days a go I’m not quite as optimistic as I used to be.  I will admit that I’m very excited for most of the Nintendo franchise games like Mario and Zelda, but that’s come to be expected with Nintendo.  It just feels like Nintendo is missing something.

The release of the Wii U seems very familiar doesn’t it?  In 2006, the original Wii came out and it was no secret that it was fairly average compared to its competitors, the Xbox 360 and the PS3.  Yet it still sold an overwhelmingly high number of consoles.  Despite the numbers, its fairly obvious that what we’re seeing now with the Wii U should have been released nearly six years a go when the original Wii was released.  Think about it.  The Wii U is basically making up for lost ground from a hardware and software standpoint.  HD capability, a more intuitive control system (the game pad and the pro controller) and a more mainstream selection of games are all improvements that should have already existed.  This is a huge step up from the Wii, but it might be a bit late and here’s why.

Nintendo announced that the many popular titles on the Xbox 360 and the PS3 will be ported over to the Wii U, but is it really worth it to most gamers?  Most people like myself already have an Xbox 360 or a PS3.  So if games like Assassin’s Creed 3 are coming out both on the Wii U and the other consoles, there’s no reason to go out and spend $300-350 on a whole new console to play the exact same game with graphics that aren’t quite at the same level as the current consoles (in my opinion) when you can spend $60 to play it on the console you already own.  Of course, there will always be Nintendo exclusives like Mario and Zelda, but if you aren’t a fan of the Nintendo franchises there isn’t really any point to buy a Wii U.  Notably, there are a few games like Zombie U and Alien: Colonial Marines that look like a breath of fresh air for Nintendo fans, but I can’t say I’m 100% convinced yet.

I mentioned graphics earlier and for a very good reason.  The Wii U supports HD capability, but after seeing Black Ops 2 during the Wii U Preview I was a little confused. It looked pretty good, but the graphics seemed to resemble a fairly less crisp version of the original Modern Warfare graphics on the Xbox 360, which came out in 2007.  I don’t know if Nintendo can’t improve the frame rate or it was just the Wii U Preview video that made it look fairly average or what, but HD doesn’t necessarily mean that the Wii U’s games will resemble the Xbox 360 and the PS3’s graphics entirely.  But let’s be honest, the Wii definitely wasn’t catered toward games based on realism and I would argue that the Wii U isn’t entirely either.  Sure, there are more possibilities now with HD ability built in and I will admit that after watching some Assassin’s Creed 3 Wii U gameplay I am pretty impressed, but Nintendo is a company that focuses more on cartoon-like graphics with incredible gameplay and a great story line (i.e. Banjo Kazooie).  Ultimately, if you don’t mind a slightly different look in games like Black Ops 2 and Assassin’s Creed 3, then by all means purchase a Wii U.  Not only will you get the mainstream games that will look pretty good,  you’ll also get the classic Nintendo franchise games as well.

I’m sure the Wii U will be a solid console for Nintendo and I have no doubt that it will bring in big sales, but as soon as the next-gen consoles come out in a few years the Wii U will feel old like the Wii did six years a go.  If Nintendo plays its cards right and releases big name franchise titles (I’ve been praying for a Majora’s Mask remake) then there’s no doubt that Nintendo fans will remain faithful.

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Wii, Wii U and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A First Look at the Wii U

  1. excellent point about the ports e.i. assassins creed and black ops. In my post I forgot to note that i would be playing black ops on my 360 when its released and most likely not a wii u. Im a big addict of nintendo’s franchises though, Mario, Zelda, Metroid. Im just hoping for a decent zelda game, its been awhile. Majora’s mask remake would be awesome!

  2. NintendoGamerGuy says:

    dude, i have a couple of notes for ya
    1. For the graphics u cant call in ur opinion for graphics, the Wii U graphic thing has been announced as much more powerful than current gen.
    2. The call of duty and that modern warfare thing u mentioned is what u saw from a demo for the game, the company might’ve used a low resolution to show the game since it looks great in all the other games graphics.
    3.Till now some of the games are ports, that doesn’t mean they are the last right? The Wii U is getting huge support from the comapnies like Activision, Capcom, Ubisoft, EA…more than the Wii did…right?
    4 The Wii didn’t feel old when the xbox 360 and ps3 game since it stayed on top, it felt old when the usual time for a new console came.
    5.What makes u think the ps4 or the next xbox’s graphics will be better, even though if it was all about the graphics then gamecube would have won it that time

    Everybody knows how much i love Nintendo and I will always believe in them no matter what happens, but these words i wrote r analyzing and not my Love to Nintendo

    • Thank you for your comment. I would like to preface that I myself am a very avid Nintendo fan, so I’m not trying to discredit the Wii U.

      1. It may have been announced that the graphics are more powerful, but that is subjective. If you read in my article, I said that Assassin’s Creed 3 looks great on the Wii U. Black Ops 2, on the other hand, looks fairly average. I’m not saying it isn’t more powerful, but at this point we really don’t know. I did read an article that said the Wii U is more powerful than the Xbox 360 and the PS3, but it is also dependent on the game developers to design games around that software. Besides, every company says that something is “better” or more powerful to some extent. Sega did the same thing in the era of the SNES with “blast processing,” which sounded cool, but it didn’t really mean anything and the SNES was by far a better console on many levels.
      2. It may be that a low resolution screen was used, but why would they do that? Wouldn’t they want to show off their game in the best way possible? And honestly, there is a big difference between online gameplay and campaign gameplay. Usually the campaign looks sharper. I’m just comparing what I’ve seen from previous Xbox installments and the new look at Black Ops 2 on the Wii U.
      3. I also didn’t say that the ports would be the last. I merely stated that if you already have a console with the ported games on them then you may not want to buy a Wii U for the sole purpose of playing those games. I know that there will be other Nintendo exclusives and excellent games created by those companies, but for now the big name games will be on both consoles until Microsoft and Sony develop their next consoles.
      4. True, to some people the Wii didn’t feel “old.” Maybe that’s the wrong word. It was not as advanced, let’s put it that way. I love the Wii. I have one right next to my Xbox 360 and my N64, but when push comes to shove, the Xbox 360 and the PS3 are much more advanced consoles than the Wii was when they were all released. It is certainly subjective, as many people enjoy the WIi, but the games created for the system and the wii motion controls were lacking the punch that the other big name consoles delivered. Graphically the Wii is pretty weak compared to its competitors as well.
      5. Of course, the Gamecube did have better graphics when it was released with its competitors in a variety of games, but I never said it was all about graphics. My commentary is merely an observation of the systems themselves, not the sales they render. I am an avid fan of Nintendo games that incorporate smooth gameplay and a great storyline, so don’t think I’m someone who is wrapped up in graphics then think again.

      I grew up playing the NES, SNES, N64, and the Gamecube, so I am a hardcore Nintendo fan, but I am also an Xbox 360 fan as well. If I’m given the choice to buy a new console specifically for ported games, or to play them on the console I already own, I’d choose the latter. I am planning on getting a Wii U because I enjoy Nintendo franchise games, but I also realize that the big name games developed by companies like EA will make a nice addition to the Wii U collection.

      -Ocarina of Time Nerd

Leave a Reply

