Looking forward to the New Super Mario Bros. U?

I am a huge fan of the New Super Mario Bros. on the Wii.  For all the 90’s kids out there you know exactly why I love this game so much.  Growing up with titles like Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World was incredible, but as soon as the newer generation of consoles came out like the N64, the classic side scrolling Mario games began to disappear.  Fortunately for us, Nintendo read our minds and served up a huge dish of nostalgia.  And, to make things better, they’re doing it again.  I can’t wait to get my hands on this game!

I played through Super Mario Bros. on the Wii with my friends and it was everything I could have hoped for.  Whoever came up with the idea of placing four characters on the same screen in a Mario game is a genius.  From start to finish, the game never really gets boring because you have to work as a team to progress through the levels. That…or you’ll end up laughing your head off as you throw each other off of cliffs or into enemies.  Yes, I’ll admit that I’m quite guilty of throwing my teammates off of cliffs, but it’s that kind of thing that makes the game so enjoyable.  It’s just a fun game to play with a good group of friends.

That being said, if you haven’t checked out the New Super Mario Bros. U E3 trailer I suggest you take a look because it looks like it’s going to be amazing!  Sure, you could argue that it’s basically like Mario Bros. Wii 2.0, but the same thing could be said about almost any video game franchise that has released side scrolling games in the past. Overall, it seems like this game should be just as fun as its predecessor, especially because of the power-ups.

Flying Mario on the Wii U

Ok, now be honest.  How many people enjoyed flying as Tanuki Mario in Super Mario Bros. 3 or with the cape in Super Mario World?  I for one did and I’m stoked that they’ve brought back a flying power-up similar to the the cape and the Tanuki suit in the newest addition to the Mario franchise.  It may sound bad, but sometimes flying over levels is just so much easier than battling through countless hordes of goombas and koopas.

My one complaint about Mario Bros. on the Wii U from what I’ve seen so far is that the characters are exactly the same as they were in the previous installment.  I’m obviously fine with Mario and Luigi.  They have to be in there, but what were they thinking when they put two Toads in as playable characters?  Could they be any more unoriginal?  I understand that there wasn’t much else they could have done, but why not put Daisy in as a playable character along side one of the Toads? It’s a very minute detail and it doesn’t affect gameplay at all, but it would have been nice to see more character diversity while playing through levels.  For my friends and myself it sometimes becomes a battle over who can get Luigi first so that they don’t have to be one of the Toads!

So what do you think?  Are you looking forward to playing the New Super Mario Bros. on the Wii U or does it seem too similar to Super Mario Bros. Wii?  Leave a comment and let me know what you think!

-Ocarina of Time Nerd

Related articles

About Joel

Live, love, play video games.
This entry was posted in Wii and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking forward to the New Super Mario Bros. U?

  1. Halloween says:

    I simply cannot think you really took the time
    to post this. It should of taken a bit in how well thought out it truly.
    I shared it over at my facebook.

    • Thank you for your opinion, but I’m having trouble understanding exactly what you mean. What else would you like to see in this post? It’s just a few thoughts and personal opinions…so I’m not sure if you simply don’t like what I have to say or if you think it’s missing something. Let me know.

      -ocarina of time nerd

  2. Pingback: Nintendo Wii U News/Rumor Round-up! | GameTalk

Leave a Reply

